Feet Don’t Fail Me Now

RunningI am a few weeks away from my first half marathon.  I’ve been logging A LOT of miles these days, and for the most part my pace gets better and I feel better with each run.  Today, well, today was not one of those days.  Today I was the girl on the trail with tears in her eyes trying her best to just keep one foot going in front of the other.  Every song that blasted through my earbuds told me to keep going, but my soul was too heavy for my tired legs. The exhaustion of the long hours of work I’ve been putting in and the frustration of an unbudging scale finally caught up to me today.  It just seemed like I couldn’t run fast enough to keep the tears away.  Perhaps that’s just what I needed though.  To feel the hurt, the frustration, the fear – to feel it and let it go.  Before, I would have eaten my way through these emotions, now I’m running my way through them.  It’s the letting it go part I’ve been hung up on.  Though I’m not sure how to do it, I must.  And though the miles are hard, the race is before me.  In the immortal words of Jay-Z, “Victory’s within the mile/Almost there, don’t give up now.”

 

Leave a comment